'78 650 - Where's the front fork air valve?

More
19 Mar 2007 15:09 #121655 by Marshall
I just bought the bike and I have the original owner's manual and a Kawasaki service manual for a slightly later model, but neither explains anything about the air pressure in the front fork. My bike seems different from the diagrams I've found on this site; at the top of each fork tube there is simply a flat, black, plastic cap. Underneath the cap is a 1/2" square recession that you can fit a socket wrench into, but not an air valve. I'm trying to check my fork oil - can I unscrew the cap at the top of each tube without having something blow up in my face?

Thanks for any input, I'm new at this motorcycle thing.

Marshall

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Mar 2007 15:28 #121666 by dkmk
Grab your 1/2" dr. ratchet with an extension and unscrew it. It is very similar to a pipe plug. The spring underneath will be slightly compressed, but not enough to come up and take out your eye. :laugh:
Can't remember the exact spec, but I have a piece of 1/4 keystock with the measurement etched on it. (Something like 370mm, but don't quote someone going from memory :P ) The is the distance from the top of the tube, to the oil level. While there, measure the spring to make sure it is within the tolerance specified in the manual. Change the oil while you're there. I use tranny fluid. Speaking of "while you're there" (famous last words), when was the last time the fork seals were replaced? Now is the time if you think they might be due. Hope this helped. B)

Northern Ontario
Zapp: "Kif, I'm feeling the Captain's Itch."
Kif: "I'll get the powder, sir."

More
19 Mar 2007 15:48 #121674 by HENRYJ
Replied by HENRYJ on topic '78 650 - Where's the front fork air valve?
No air valve on those forks, just spring loaded.

Where are the pictures?

More
19 Mar 2007 16:01 #121680 by Marshall
Replied by Marshall on topic '78 650 - Where's the front fork air valve?